Lancashire Best Kept Village Competition

Competition Criteria

Who can enter?

Lancashire Village The Lancashire Best Kept Village Competition is open to Parish Councils, Residents' Associations, Village Hall Committees, Women's Institutes or any other organisation that can get the support and involvement of the rest of the village and its inhabitants.

There are five entry classes based on the population size of the village:

  • Hamlet Class - population up to 350.
  • Small Village Class - population 351 to 1,000.
  • Medium Village Class - Population 1,001 to 2,000.
  • Large Village Class - Population 2,001 to 8,500.
    Larger villages are encouraged to split the village, and enter two or more areas. This gives extra chances to win awards and also makes it easier for the judges who have a smaller area to judge.
  • Champion Class - Any winner of the above Classes (except the Hamlet Class).
    Winners will remain and be entered in this class for a further 4 competitions. The 4 years will apply whether or not the village makes an entry during this period.

As well as looking for overall 'Best Kept Village' across the five classes, replacing the 'Certificate of Merit', from 2019 'Outstanding Feature Award' entries are welcome and are judged across a number of categories covering specific areas and buildings, such as Churches, Schools, Public Halls, Shops, Children's Play Areas, Playing Fields, etc.

Outstanding Feature Award Entries

These are open to any village entering the main competition and can be used to persuade more people to enter into the spirit of the Competition. Judging for these entries is in addition to the main competition, adding to demands on judges, villages are restricted to a maximum of 10 entries and 1 entry per sections. The winners of each category receiving a trophy and a certificate

Sections available:

  1. Place of Worship and Grounds.
  2. School & Children's Nurseries.
  3. Village Pub or Inn / Restaurant.
  4. Public Hall, Community Centre.
  5. Public Playing Field/Sports Ground.
  6. Children's Play Area.
  7. Industrial or Commercial Premises.
  8. Shops
  9. Residential / Nursing Home / Sheltered Accommodation.
  10. Hotel / Guest House.
  11. Notice Board.
  12. War Memorial / Public Monument.
  13. Bowling Green & Surrounds.
  14. Cricket Ground & Surrounds.
  15. Public Garden.

Further information can be found in Village Entry Rules (2022).


News: Latest

Preparations are now in hand for the 2022 Competition. There has been a further review of our Constitution, entry and judging criteria, and Judges training scheduled. Organisers now welcome entries from Lancashire villages - by 30/4/22.

Following the cancellation in 2020, the Competition resumed in 2021 with 46 villages taking part - understandably down on the usual number of entrants.

Champion Villages in 2021:
Final judged by Ralph Assheton (Sheriff of Lancashire 2020).
◆ Champion Village: Blacko
◆ Large Village: Halsall
◆ Medium Village: Barton
◆ Small Village: Whitechapel
◆ Hamlet: Barley
2021 Full Results

As ever we much appreciate all who take part and support this event, especially our Judges, Committee and sponsors. Good luck to all who take part!

In 2019 the 'Constitution of the Competition' was updated and streamlined, simplifying all paperwork used by villages and judges; the Certificate of Merit part of the competition was overhauled, replaced by a secondary competition called 'Outstanding Features' - villages entering the main competition able to nominate up to 10 Outstanding Features of their village, and certificates awarded to the best in each class.


Other Information

'10 Lancashire villages that you should visit' - Lancashire Life (article)

Did you know there are regional best kept village competitions across the United Kingdom?

Our thanks to our 2021 sponsors: Lancashire Association of Local Councils (LALC); Eaves Hall Hotel at West Radford; Lancashire Life, Lancashire Live and new sponsor Barton Grange Group. We are grateful too for the support of a number of Lancashire County Councillors.